Finally made it into the movies!

Well, not exactly, but I am delighted to be one of the backers of Zach Braff’s upcoming film.

  • Wish I was Here is Zach’s next project, a screenplay he wrote with his brother.
  • He will start shooting this summer for release Sept 2014.
  • He is crowdsourcing his funding so that he doesn’t have to give up his creative integrity – basically, no one can tell him when and where he cameos Don Faison.

Admittedly, mine was only a small donation to the cause, but it has made me feel really invested and very very excited.  What an incredible thing to have even the smalled vested interest in a film…?

815c3b30177e545f0d91d3b38387d22b_large

Why I spent £19 good English Pounds to be part of this project

  • The whole Kickstarter for film concept is intriguing in itself – what happens once they hit the target? Who tops up the rest of the money?
  • How much of the process is he really going to share? The backroom insight is what got me really excited – to understand his creative process, to see sketches and listen to first thoughts on soundtrach
  • ZB has created so much equity in his “brand” because he is such a prolific Twit and that investment is paying off.
  • I did enjoy Garden State and also All New People. For me, both of them deal with the idea of joy and sorrow living together in one space (in one head) and how that can lead to friction and tension.
  • For $200 I could have put the baby’s name in the film – one of the rewards is to get your name written on a wall of grafitti that ZB’s character walks past every day and just think that would be an AMAZING thing to do for my little bubba – but £130 is just a bit steep for a glory project. And plus, it sets expectations up for the little one before it is even born. What if the baby hates films? hates Scrubs? Jennifer Dylan….
  • So all in, great idea. Has already captured the imagination of 30,000 people around the world and it only launched three days ago.
  • If ZB needs more ideas for rewards to offer (many have already sold out), I’d love a wee little certificate with my name on it and “Executive Producer” next to it.

Looking forward to the show.

About lifeofpia

I am reviewing the things I like.
This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment