My mummy says I’m a miracle

Matilda, currently running at the Cambridge Theatre, is a complete visual delight.

They’ve taken the much-loved Roald Dahl classic and pimped it, courtesy of some very fine mini actors and a score by ever popular Tim Minchin.

Sadly, I don’t quite get Minchin’s cleverer than thou humour and find him a wee bit annoying… So having every musical line bursting at the seams with words words words, was too much – the poor kids with their little mouths so well-drilled by their drama teachers were fighting to get all the words out. No amount of wingardium leviOHsa practice from the Hogwarts and Hermione school of diction could get over this one. It was more like trying to recite poetry with seven marbles in Audrey Hepburn’s mouth.

Don’t get me wrong, for the 70pc of the time that I could hear or understand the words of the songs, I can hand on heart declare TM a genius of sorts. The songs were indeed clever, witty and relevant to the story. All in all, there was a good balance of school of rock and whimsical fancy and the alphabet song was a particular favourite 🙂

The stage, set and lighting more than recompensed for any frustration the lyrics caused. Every inch of the stage (and theatre) was used with flair, and the imagination and skill of the set designers and builders made every magical moment in the book a reality.

The choreography was also absolutely incredible – they made full use of the children with sharp, simple arrangements and classic playground moves – it was a delight from start to finish!

The young lady playing Matilda gave a polished, confident and effortless performance, so naturally professional that I never once found myself crediting youth for any mistakes (not that there were many).

The youngest/smallest of the children completely stole my heart. He was the comic subplot in every class room scene and would play dead whenever the Trunch came along. And for someone all of 2.5ft tall, he had the comedy presence to match Ms Trunchbull every which way.

What a winner!

About lifeofpia

I am reviewing the things I like.
This entry was posted in Book, Theatre and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My mummy says I’m a miracle

  1. Love this post, Pia! I agree that the little half-pint stole all the scenes he was in. Bless. I felt the Trunch was a little underused and not nearly threatening enough, although it may be more a case of I just wanted to see more of Bertie Carvel’s genius!

Leave a comment